User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 8 Old 02-04-2007, 09:06 PM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
94 GT....automatic transmission

Hi im new to this but i need some help.
Im going to hopefully purchase a 1994 GT tomorrow with an automatic transmission. The car has 65000 miles on it. I looked at it the other night and it looked to be in good condition but want to see it in the day tomorrow......ok my concern is i heard that 1994 auto trans have been a problem and im wondering if anyone knows if this is true and if there is anything i should be looking for. I know to smell the fluid but the owner is a mechanic so its possible he could cover things up....can anyone tell me what i need to look for and if they know of any problems with 1994 GT automatics?????? Please help
Karen
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 Old 02-05-2007, 02:10 PM

I have a 94 mustang gt with an automatic. I cant really tell you what to look for but I know I have had my transmission rebuilt twice. The first time was shortly after I bought the car in 97 and the second time in 02. The second time was probally my fault due to stupidity. As long as your not doing neutral drops youll probally be alright. I havent had any problems out of mine since I grew up and treated it with some respect. Your take off sucks when driving an automatic though so I would suggest a stall and gears. I went with 4.10s but would recommend 3.73s due to the high rpms when traveling the interstates. At 75mph im running around 3400 rpms. If I was to do it again I would go with the 3.73. I know this doesnt reallly answer your question of what to look for but just thought id share my story and good luck.
post #3 of 8 Old 02-05-2007, 06:59 PM

Make sure it takes off well from a stop (no slipping), and shifts smoothly through all the gears. Put some repair money aside. This is a 13 year old car, it's bound to need something fixed.

'87 GT with a battery