rear gears and etc - Muscular Mustangs
User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 4 Old 06-28-2009, 12:46 PM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
rear gears and etc

I recently purchased an '02 3.8L Mustang automatic that has 70k. I really enjoy my car but I want more zip out of it. I have added dual exhaust and an underdrive pulley. I am thinking about getting rear end gears and traction lok for my car. My questions are what kind of gears should I use (I've read online that 4.10 are good for automatics) , and will it require a transmission tuning for the gears. Will it also need new rear end bearings as well? This is my daily driver so I don't want to tear up my car. My last question is would all this be worth it (especially if costs thousands of dollars) or should I save my money and buy a GT? I am a complete noob on stuff like this so any help would be especially appreciated.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 4 Old 06-28-2009, 02:42 PM
Banned

Re: rear gears and etc

Well first off if you're even considering buying a GT then I say just go for that because there is no sense putting parts into this car only to sell it a few months later.

4.10s should be fine. I definitely wouldn't go any higher. The higher you go the more rpms you'll be turning at any given speed, so for example right now in top gear you might be doing 1500 rpms at 60mph but the 4.10s will increase that to around 2000 rpms which would result in a slight decrease in fuel mileage and a louder interior.

You don't have to change anything in the transmission but you will need a speed calibrator to compensate for the different gear ratio otherwise your speedo will be off.